from-hillywood-to-hollywood.reismee.nl

Day 24, Once I was afraid I was PETRIFIED!

OK, actually today has nothing to do with the song but everything with my passion for stones and minerals. I told Serge about the Petrified Forest and Painted Desert and without hesitation he wanted to take me there. This place is nothing less than amazing. The process that turns a normal tree in one totally made out of stone is so fascinating. How trees are buried in sediment and over time groundwater rich in dissolved solids flows through the sediment, replacing the original plant material with silica, calcite, etc. On some pieces you can see a perfect crystal structure but most pieces are rich in color and ask to be admired. No piece is the same and the colors all exist through whatever is mixed with the groundwater. We walked around and I just took in everything.

We saw the Crystal Forest, Blue Mesa with the bluish color, Newspaper rock where you can see old drawings of the people living there thousands of years ago and Puerco Pueblo, the remains of an old settlement. We saw the Studebaker from 1932 a route 66 monument in the Painted Desert and walked around in the Painted Desert Inn, a lodge opened in 1940 when a Coke was still $0,10, a plane ice cream $0,15 and a Banana Split $0,30! Oh those were the days!

From here we drove to Winslow, took a pic of the Post Office in Holbrook and of course in Winslow. A block from the Post Office in Winslow we were standin' at the corner ...
"Well I'm a standin' on a corner in Winslow, Arizona
Such a fine sight to see
It's a girl my lord in a flatbed
Ford slowin' down to take a look at me
Come on baby" (Eagles)

Another eventful day is coming to an end, I am so grateful to be experiencing all of this with the man I love!

Sleep tight everybody!

Reacties

Reacties

Wendy

Niet normaal hoeveel moois jullie zien deze reis. Geweldig!

Annemarie

Niet te geloven wat jullie allemaal zien !
Dit , met mijn passie voor kristallen , is te gek !
Wat een ervaring ???

{{ reactie.poster_name }}

Reageer

Laat een reactie achter!

De volgende fout is opgetreden
  • {{ error }}
{{ reactieForm.errorMessage }}
Je reactie is opgeslagen!